The Minnesota State Fair Scholarship program funded by the Minnesota State Fair Foundation began in 1994. Each year 20 scholarships valued at $1000 are awarded to deserving rural students from Minnesota. Since the scholarship program began more than $500,000 has been awarded to deserving students. The scholarships are base on students "leadership and achievement in youth livestock programs, as well as their involvement in the local community."

Congratulations to these recipients from our area: Ryan Hegland from Northfield, Megan Olson of Hastings, Issabella O'Rouke from Wells, Isabelle Patterson from Kenyon, Hayden Poquette of Wanamingo, and Anna Ridenour from Dodge Center. Over the years I have gotten to know many of these students!

Here is the list of the Minnesota State Fair scholarship winners for 2021 from the Minnesota State Fair news release. How many of them do you know from around Minnesota?

The 20 recipients of the Minnesota State Fair Scholarship are:

  • Lafe Aarsvold of Altura
  • Kelsey Biel of Harmony
  • Anakin Bosek of Garfield
  • McKayla Carlson-Hughes of Stanchfield
  • Maxwell Ehrich of Elmore
  • Abby Foss of Cambridge
  • Wyatt Halvorson of Goodridge
  • Ryan Hegland of Northfield
  • Lily Krona of Bemidji
  • Jordan Mueller of Arlington
  • Megan Olson of Hastings
  • Mikayla Opatz of Springfield
  • Issabella O'Rourke of Wells
  • Isabelle Patterson of Kenyon
  • Hayden Poquette of Wanamingo
  • Sophia Portner of Sleepy Eye
  • Megan Ratka of Cold Spring
  • Anna Ridenour of Dodge Center
  • Bryce Skiba of North Branch
  • Haley Van Nurden of Sunburg

BEWARE! Look Out For These Dangers In MN Lakes!

After months of waiting, lake season is here! It's time to spend your days soaking up the rays and swimming in the refreshing water. Just make sure you watch out for these potential hazards.

More From 106.9 KROC-FM