Enter your number to get our free mobile app

Rochester, MN (KROC-AM News) - Rochester Mayor Kim Norton hosted a virtual award ceremony last night on Facebook to recognize the recipients of the 2020 Mayor's Medal of Honor Awards.

This awards program recognizes individuals from the Rochester area for their contributions to the community in a list of various categories. This year, the Mayor's Award was presented to David Morrill for his extraordinary efforts as a member of the Save The Track group that lobbied for and helped pay for the rehabilitation of the historic running track at Soldiers Field Park.

Mayor Norton also broke from tradition this year and issued Certificates of Commendation along with keys to the city to several previous Medal of Honor winners. The special recognition went to Al Tuntland, Alan DeBoer, Bob Nowicki, and Jackie Trotter. The mayor also bestowed a special Above and Beyond Award to Audrey Betcher and the staff of the Rochester Public Library for their efforts during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Here is a list of all of this year's Mayor's Medal of Honor Winners (Click here to learn more about each of these deserving individuals):

  • Artistic/Cultural Achievement Award-Danny Solis
  • Champion of Diversity Award-Omar Nur
  • Community-Wide Service Award-Peg Winters
  • Educational Excellence Award-Nicole Andrews
  • Excellence in City Service Award-Terry Spaeth
  • Excellence in Industry Award-Jennifer Becker
  • Human Services Award-April Sutor and Kelli DeCook
  • Legacy Award-Elaine Case
  • Personal Achievement Award-Jason Zlystra
  • Senior/Elder Achievement Award-Monica Taylor
  • Sustainability Award-Kelly Rae Kirkpatrick
  • Youth Serving Community Award-Yezi Gugsa

NEW PHOTOS: Best Christmas Light Displays in Rochester & Southeast Minnesota

More From 106.9 KROC-FM